music

Latitude Festival

Latitude which takes place near Southwold in Suffolk is one of the most chilled out festival experiences you could wish for, if Glastonbury sometimes feels like an endurance test then this is the perfect antidote. It helped that I didn’t even camp at the festival, instead I was lucky enough to stay in a friend of a friends holiday cottage a few miles off site (cheating slightly, I know).

Latitude is a great combination of music, theatre, poetry, comedy…oh and food, SO much good food, yep it’s all very middle class and civilised at Latitude – there’s a good few places to sip on champagne, and there’s even a proper sit down restaurant, but that doesn’t take away any of it’s credentials as a lovely little festival.

I should probably at least talk about some of the music I guess…I was surprised by how much I loved Lily Allen’s short notice headline set on the Friday night, I thought we’d end up watching a couple of songs then wandering onto something else but she had us all dancing and singing along to almost every word, in fact it was one of the most fun headline performances I’ve ever seen at a festival. It was great to see George Ezra play to a packed 6 Music tent and James Bay win over new fans, new discoveries included Only Real who I’ve wanted to see for a while and Liverpudlians Circa Waves.

Oh and the weather was pretty awesome, sure there was a couple of thunderstorms but the mud level was no where near Glastonbury standards! and the lightening looked spectacular (gotta say I was glad I wasn’t in a tent though)

Here’s some pics from the weekend!

sheep

lat1

lat2

lat colour1

lat3

lat4

 

Leave a Reply

