music

Reflektor

A bit of a delayed reaction, but Arcade Fire on Friday were incredible. I have to be honest I was a little bit concerned about seeing one of my favourite bands in a venue that I’m not too fussed about to be honest, however AF transformed Earls Court into something special at the weekend. Having a second ‘stage’ in the middle of the standing area with dancers (including a human mirror ball) made the show all the more amazing…especially when RΓ©gine appeared there to sing across the arena back to Win on the stage.

Image

Image

I was slightly concerned about ‘spoiling’ my enjoyment of them at Glastonbury by having a sneaky peek, but whatever they do in a couple of weeks I don’t doubt it will be just as phenomenal…and also quite different from these gigs.Β I also have to mention how lovely the crowd were at Earls Court, at least where I was stood anyway, lots of people turned up in the recommended fancy dress or formal wear – including a few people channelling the Win Butler painted on eye mask – fab, and just generally everyone seemed to be in a party mood. For me there is no other band that lift your spirits as much as these guys.

Image

Image

Image

I was so glad that ‘Wake Up’ was the finale, hearing the whole of the arena sing it back to them was spine-tingling, if it’s the same at Glastonbury (*prays*) it will be one of those “I was there” moments.

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

