Makes

Hillarys Blinds Competition – Pocket Cushion

edit7

I discovered the Hillarys Blinds competition on the UK Craft Blog website (via a Folksy tweet!), there was an option to choose one of the fabrics designed by Victoria Robinson for the ‘Country Retreat’ range and make anything you liked with it.Β  I decided to go for the Wild Poppies Vermillion…A tough decision between that and Bird Parade Teal which I also love!

Image

Judging the competition are the Hillarys Blinds design team along with Hilary from http://www.ukcraftblog.com/, Rosie & Hannah from http://www.thenewcraftsociety.com/,Β Caroline from http://www.burkatron.com/ and H and Sammy from http://www.liveitloveitmakeit.com/. If you’re a fellow crafter, or craft fan these blogs are defintely worth taking a peek at.

I recieved a 100 x 100 cm piece of the fabric so there was plenty to work with! I decided to make a one of my tried and tested cushions, and ended up having enough fabric left to make another, I combined the fabric from Hillarys with a dotty print cotton. The cushion has a large pocket on the front, which is a handy place to put your magazine, remote control or even some PJ’s as a friend suggested! πŸ™‚ I added the large wooden button on the front because I want to put them on everything at the moment!

The size of the cushion is 44 x 44cm and I made it with an envelope opening at the bag so it’s easy to take off and change the cushion pads if need be!

Image

Image

 

Image

Image

With the fabric I had remaining after the pocket cushion I made the one below to go with it, using some of the flowers from the fabric to create an appliquΓ© flowers design on the front, with the back of the cushion in the Wild Poppies Vermillion.

Image

Image

Bunch of flowers appliquΓ© design on the front of the cushion, I love using bits of fabric and reconstructing them into something different.

Image

It was nice of the sun to come out for some photos!

Image

It was so lovely to have a new little project to do and it has given me lots of ideas for future ones!

http://www.hillarys.co.uk/

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Hillarys Blinds Competition – Pocket Cushion

Leave a Reply

