music

My bands and gigs of 2013

Whether it was a new band I fell in love with this year or an old favourite here is my list of the ones that have had the biggest impact on me…

Wolf Alice: I saw these at the X-Posure all dayer at the Barfly back in January, although I had seen them once before it wasn’t until the all dayer that I fell properly head over heels for them, there’s not many female fronted bands that I love as much as these; so very excited for the album next year.

wolf alice

Drenge: I also saw Drenge at the X-Posure All Dayer and I was immediately blown away by them in fact I wouldn’t shut about them for a long time after, since then I think I have seen them about 8 times at various gigs and festivals…and I’m still not sick of them.

The Strypes: After a friend insisted I saw them after he experienced their Old Blue Last gig I went to see them at The Social and was blown away, they are still so young yet play with more confidence than people double their age, and they sound incredible live.

The Weeks: I first saw these guys in the summer supporting Kings Of Leon and pretty much instantly fell in love with their Southern charm.  I’ve seen them a couple of times since in smaller London venues and they are have become one of my favourite live bands this year.

Peace: Even though I had already seen them live last year Peace have featured massively in my 2013, from seeing them at various venues in London and at festivals, to their tiny (and crazy) Old Blue Last gig and finally to their amazing headline show this month at Shepherds Bush Empire; I’ve had In Love on non-stop since it was released.

peace

Sivu: Sivu is someone I have known through mutual friends and through the Cambridge music scene for years, so it was lovely to see him doing so well this year. Everyone I took to watch him instantly fell in love, I wouldn’t be surprised if he becomes HUGE and it’s most definitely well deserved.

Skaters: Skaters were the band that I was most excited about at the end of 2012 after seeing them just before Christmas last year. They remind me of The Strokes when they first came out, a genuinely exciting new band that I hope to see lots more of.

skaters

Kings Of Leon: In case you didn’t know I have always and probably always will love this band, which I know may not be coolest statement to make but I don’t care. It was beyond brilliant to see them back in a smaller venue when they played a one off gig at Shepherds Bush Empire, then again a month later at the Roundhouse for the iTunes festival, where I was lucky enough to watch from the balcony at the side of the stage (singing along to every word of course).

Arctic Monkeys: An obvious inclusion but I think after two listens I was hooked on AM, although the first few songs of their Glastonbury set was spent trying to weave through the crowd to find somewhere we could stand and see more than just the top of the pyramid it was definitely still one of my festival highlights. Then there was the Earls Court gig in October that just confirmed their place in countless end of year lists.

Arcade Fire: So happy to have these back and so glad they have been announced as the Friday night headliners at Glastonbury 2014! Coming back under the moniker ‘The Reflektors’ and playing not so secret shows including two nights at the Roundhouse (where they asked everyone to come in either fancy dress or formal wear) Arcade Fire had one of my favourite albums of 2013.

arcade fire

Tribes: This year one of my favourite bands, Tribes decided to call it day, I got to see them play 2 awesome shows in the summer at Reading and Glastonbury along with some smaller gigs during the year and their awesome headline show at the Roundhouse. It’s fair to say I was devastated when they announced they would no longer play together. They always seemed so appreciative of their fans and every time they played in Camden it felt like a massive home coming. They will be sadly missed during festival season next year.

My favourite gigs of 2013:

Cribs @ Birthdays, Parquet Courts @ Old Blue Last, Cribs/Drenge @ 100 Club, The Killers @ the Garage, Mumford & Sons @ the Garage, Palma Violets @ Brixton Electric, Katy Perry @ The Roundhouse, The Weeks @ the Sebright Arms, Kings Of Leon @ Shepherds Bush Empire, Tribes @ The Roundhouse, The Rolling Stones @ Glastonbury, Foals @ Latitude, Greenday @ Brixton Academy, Peace/Drenge @ Shepherds Bush Empire, McFly @ The Royal Albert Hall, The 1975 @ Latitude, Swim Deep @ Live At Leeds, The Strypes @ The Social, The Reflektors (Arcade Fire) @ The Roundhouse, Spector @ Reading Festival, Black Wire @ Birthdays…

…I probably left a few out so feel free to share with me anything I forgot!

Leave a Reply

