music

TheWeeks/LIFE/ArcticMonkeys

On Tuesday I went to Dingwalls in Camden to see The Weeks. The band from Mississippi supported Kings of Leon on their recent tour and from the moment I heard them at the O2 in June I was instantly hooked. The crowd at Dingwalls was amazing, I knew they had built up a fanbase here  but had no idea just how adored they were, during ‘Buttons’ there was an attempted stage invasion, crowd surfing and the lead singer lost his hat. If I wasn’t already obsessed with the Southern half of the USA I most definitely am now.

the weeks

Wednesday night involved a trip to Power Lunches on Kingsland Road for LIFE’s single launch. LIFE used to be The Neat, who I first saw in Amsterdam at the London Calling festival about 3 years ago, I really like their new stuff and it will be interesting to see what they do next. As for Power Lunches, it’s a really good little basement venue, but possibly the darkest place I’ve been for a gig, it took a good 10 minutes to adjust to the lights after emerging from downstairs.

life

Then it was time for the biggie…Arctic Monkeys at Earls Court on Friday, even though its pretty old and run down its kind of sad that Earls Court will be no more soon, especially as it played to host to one of my first concerts (Take That) when I was 11 years old. I will always much prefer seeing bands in tiny venues but at least Earls Court isn’t as soulless as the O2 Arena and when you’re as massive as the Monkeys you can’t really go much smaller. The gig was amazing, the new album sounded even better live and it wouldn’t be  an Arctic Monkeys gig without ‘I Bet You Look Good On The Dancefloor’ thrown in for people to go crazy to. Even the obnoxious girls that thought no one would complain if they spent half the gig on peoples shoulders (HELLO, NO ONE CAN SEE) could ruin it. I came out covered in beer,sweat and possibly worse things but it was all SO worth it.

photo 2

photo 1

Leave a Reply

